Rethinking meat consumption, part two

Last week, I wrote a post about my considering the possibility of eating a more vegetarian diet. I have, over the course of the past few days, taken this consideration to a more practical level. Other than the local honey I referred to, made by bees that I know are living a normal and happy bee sort of life, I have eliminated all other animal products from my diet. With the inclusion of honey, and with my having no problems wearing a leather bracelet or leather shoes (which, by the way, tend to outlast plastic shoes and do not destroy the environment when they are discarded), I’m a far cry from being a Vegan. Finding a new label for myself, however, was not my goal. My goal was to enjoy my meals with a much clearer conscience about what I was eating: I am happy to report that this has already been achieved! The sky did not fall down on my head the first day after eliminating meat. I did not spend the whole day looking around for something to kill and eat raw, just because I didn’t eat meat for breakfast and needed my fix. So far, and it’s been nearly a week now, I’ve simply felt better. I’ve also noticed that my interest in foods and food variety has increased … I saw some Inca berries in the store the other day and decided I had to try them for the first time, and am now hooked, as but one example.

For now, I’m inclined to let the subject of my dietary preferences in this blog rest – I don’t think I need to start a vegetarian journal in here – but I thought a follow-up might interest anyone who read the first post. The first step has been taken, and I haven’t missed eating meat at all. I know at the time I wrote the first post about exploring vegetarianism, I was inclined to research more and basically take more time to convince myself that this would be the right thing for me to do. Shortly after writing that post, it occurred to me that this already felt right – the part of me that was wanting to wait was the part of me that was long-used to eating meat. If something already feels right, hesitation is often counterproductive and, with that in mind, I felt it was already time to take this path.

Feel free to add your thoughts ....

