A new (old) stone

I was at a Medieval festival today, and there happened to be a goldsmith selling some jewelry. The jewelry was very nice – most of what she had included stones and semi-precious gems of various sorts, and I had the chance to go plundering through some of her tumbled stones. It didn’t take very long until I was drawn toward one stone – black, brown and white – that I’d never seen before. When I touched it, it was almost one of those moments like in the Harry Potter movie, when Harry Potter met his first wand … it was just a lot less dramatic – more of a really deep, intense, connected moment. For lack of better words, it was a Zen moment. When I asked what kind of stone I was holding, I didn’t recognize the name; so I bought the stone and brought it home (no way I was walking away from it). When I got home, I started looking around on the Web for more information and was stunned to find out that I was holding one of the oldest types of fossils we know of, fossilized cyanobacteria, from the time when life first started appearing on Earth.

The name of the stone? Stromatolite.

Feel free to add your thoughts ....

