Vast simplicities

Ever notice how, at least in English, two of the most vast concepts are described by two of the smallest words? What I’m speaking about here are the words, ‘if,’ and ‘be.’ It’s genius, and a nod of respect to the pragmatism that seems to be so pervasive in the English language … even the largest of words in English couldn’t do these two concepts the same justice that a pair of two-letter words can do.

Perhaps, though, it is because these words are themselves so small, that it seems so many take them for granted. I’m not ashamed to admit that I actually spend time on a daily basis to allow these two words to unfold in my mind. Speaking either of the words gives me a feeling that I can only describe as being similar to holding an acorn in my hand, and realizing that I am holding an entire forest. I would even dare to take this further, and disagree with an opening passage from a very well-known book: in the beginning, before there was anything, the only word that could have been spoken was ‘if;’ and as a consequence of that, I can imagine the Big Bang, the birth of our universe and everything in it, was Nature’s way of responding with ‘BE.’ Simple, and primal, and yet incalculably vast and full of infinite potential.

Feel free to add your thoughts ....

