AI

Artificial Intelligence  – this article from Reuters, describing Elon Musk’s claim that we will soon have to implant technology into our brains just to keep up with the output of AI-enhanced computers of the near future, opens a philosophical side to the topic by asking whether or not augmenting our brains with computers will have an impact on our sense of humanity. I think this is a good question to ask, and I think it’s a discussion that needs to happen at all levels.

First, although I grew up with plenty of science-fiction, I’d like to clarify that I have very little fear of robot monsters prowling through time and space, subjugating life on our planet. I fear the human monsters of politics, economics and outright madness. Who commands the most money and influence will obviously command access to the better technologies; and will thus command a massive advantage over those who do not. Looking at the world today, I see a tendency to do this already, I worry over the potential to enhance it with the kind of AI Musk imagines for us. Flaws in any system, intentional or not, are to be expected – I’m wary of implanting something in my brain that might pick up a virus from an unfriendly group, government, corporation, or even a simple madman with time on his hands and a point to prove.

I think the Reuters article asks a valid question. My answer is that I do not believe AI itself will affect our sense of humanity. I believe instead that it will simply amplify our ability to act upon whatever sense of humanity we already possess. Looking at the world today, I can see where this could be both blessing and curse. Let us hope that our common senses of humanity and good-naturedness somehow evolve faster than AI technologies.

3 responses to “AI

  1. From what I see, many people would rather interact in a VR world, completely enhanced with AI and any other surgical procedures to be “better / stronger / sexier” without putting in any real effort. Laziness and BS are the status quo, thanks to the Kar-Trash-ians and the Facebook / Twitter / Instagram crowd.

    It’s all about how you look these days, not how well you can put a sentence together. I don’t fear technological advances, but I will always despise those who use anything that they can to artificially elevate themselves over others – and it doesn’t always require surgery or technology!
    :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • We live in a culture where a gratified ego is promoted (by those who stand to make money while simultaneously getting their egos stroked) as the ultimate achievement in life. This is not the healthy pleasure-seeking of the Epicurian School of Philosophy (although its purveyors would certainly like us to think it is), this is a simple rat race to gratify egos. Thus the Virtual Age is a blessing and curse for such people – the technology can be used by some to propel themselves ahead of everyone else, winning a game that doesn’t really exist and hurting real people along the way; or the technology can be a Siren song to lure people into pre-programmed complacency. If AI were to really take off, how long would it take a computer to learn this weakness of ours, I wonder?

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to add your thoughts ....

