Temple to the gods in Iceland planned

I’m sure this is already making the rounds on the Internet and in the Blogosphere; but I thought I would include a link to this particular article just to add my two cents to the topic.

First, I think it is great that a physical, Heathen temple is being erected! I think the location is also very appropriate, and look forward to seeing it when it is built. This might be something I would even feel the urge to see in person. I’m not sure how I feel about the gods being seen simply as metaphors; but I think it’s okay when we all see the gods a little differently from one another – it helps us to complete the picture, by seeing it from so many different perspectives.

One thing in the article did sort of gall me, and that was regarding the bloody animal sacrifices. It bothers me specifically that it was mentioned in such a glib manner as a parting shot in the article. I’m not going to get mired in discussions regarding how ethical or important animal sacrifices may or may not be – I’ve written about this before in this blog, as well as elsewhere. I will, however, vent a little frustration with people who sit so smugly at their keyboards and pass judgment over a group of people without first having their facts in order. Would this author ask a Christian priest or Jewish rabbi if they planned to barbecue a menagerie of animals once their new places of worship were completed? Open up a copy of the Old Testament, flip the pages until you get to Leviticus, and you’ll read why I ask this question in the first chapter. Or, flip through the Bible a few more times, and you’ll find good reason to ask whether or not there will be any fathers sacrificing their own sons at the new place of worship. But these questions don’t get asked, because everyone assumes that Christians and Jews have put all of this behind them (if they were ever taught that this was a practice more common among the forebears of Christianity than it was among ‘devil worshipers’ in the first place). By all means, feel free to put these kinds of questions to Heathens and Pagans – I think it’s good to get this out of the way and keep a group’s practices out in the open – but don’t forget to put these kinds of questions to people of other, more mainstream, faiths as well. When you do so, and everyone considers you to be an utter dumbass for it, you might just gain a little insight into what hypocrisy is all about.

7 responses to “Temple to the gods in Iceland planned

  1. Wow, very unexpected angle! Love it. And the “record” that we have of a blot in Iceland is so very close to what we find in the Bible with early Hebrew examples of bad things to do – while I will not at all deny that people butchering their own food every day would share it out of gratitude with the gods , I will question the details of the Christian writer 200 years after the fact gave for how the blot was held. ( ” well, all of these heathens must’ve done the same things – I’ll just record what’s in the Bible!” Happy Icelandic writer. πŸ˜€

    And yes – the venture Brothers were A gift for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the compliment and the link to the Venture Brothers – I will actually have time next week and am looking forward to seeing what it’s all about :-)

      As for the angle I wrote from, it is one of my favorites, as I am fond of reminding the majority that the minority is comprised of people, too … and that it is a matter of numbers that creates a majority, not superiority ;-)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ooooo, another really good one. Highly impressed. If English is your second or third language I would be shocked at what you can say in German. By the way thanks again for letting me use what you wrote about values in the pagan ethics and values section for my pagan prison support. It was a really well thought out well written piece unlike anything else I found online that I think will be singled out in discussion groups. I realized that values and ethics are one of the last things anybody usually ever hears about when learning paganism ! It’s not my job to teach them what their ethics and values should be – I just hope to help them think critically about what they read and ask themselves “if it is sacred in the circle then it must be sacred everywhere so how do we live that way?”

        Liked by 1 person

      • English is neither my second nor third language; and I think Germans would say my sometimes creative approaches to the language can be quite shocking ;-)

        Like

      • Ooooo, another really good one. Highly impressed. If English is your second or third language I would be shocked at what you can say in German.

        Liked by 1 person

Feel free to add your thoughts ....

